Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between Japan and New Zealand, each channel at its own period. Left, Japan to New Zealand; right, New Zealand to Japan.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade3.5×positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions20.9USD bn
Goods, both directions5.9USD bn

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceJapan → New ZealandNew Zealand → Japanother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnJul 2026 · 3.1 / 2.8035Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnnot reported011Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 10.2 / 5.501020Direct investment · annual · USD bn2024 · 5.0 / 0.20510Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysnot reported0.0×1.0×2.0×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods Japan → New Zealand

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Japan to New Zealand, 12 months

Exports, 12 months3.1USD bnreported
1.16importer’s report ÷ exporter’s
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods New Zealand → Japan

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of New Zealand to Japan, 12 months

Exports, 12 months2.8USD bnreported
1.15importer’s report ÷ exporter’s
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Japan → New Zealand

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Japan on residents of New Zealand

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

New Zealand → Japan

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in New Zealand on residents of Japan

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Japan → New Zealand

Q4 2025

securities issued in New Zealand held by investors in Japan

Total10.2USD bn
Equity0.5USD bn
Debt securities9.6USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

New Zealand → Japan

Q4 2025

securities issued in Japan held by investors in New Zealand

Total5.5USD bn
Equity3.7USD bn
Debt securities1.8USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Japan → New Zealand

2024

position of investors in Japan in New Zealand

Position5.0USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

New Zealand → Japan

2024

position of investors in New Zealand in Japan

Position0.2USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.