Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between Japan and Finland, each channel at its own period. Left, Japan to Finland; right, Finland to Japan.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade–positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions19.5USD bn
Goods, both directions–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceJapan → FinlandFinland → Japanother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnOct 2018 · – / 2.0012Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnQ2 2026 · – / 0.0000Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 10.9 / 8.601020Direct investment · annual · USD bn2023 · 0.9 / 0.4012Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysQ3 2018 · 10×0.0×10×20×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods Japan → Finland

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Japan to Finland, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods Finland → Japan

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Finland to Japan, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Japan → Finland

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Japan on residents of Finland

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Finland → Japan

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Finland on residents of Japan

Position0.0USD bn
Flow in the quarter0.0USD bnas published by the BIS
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Japan → Finland

Q4 2025

securities issued in Finland held by investors in Japan

Total10.9USD bn
Equity2.7USD bn
Debt securities8.3USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Finland → Japan

Q4 2025

securities issued in Japan held by investors in Finland

Total8.6USD bn
Equity7.7USD bn
Debt securities0.9USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Japan → Finland

2024

position of investors in Japan in Finland

Position–Not reported
Report–
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

Finland → Japan

2024

position of investors in Finland in Japan

Position–Not reported
Report–
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.