Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between Japan and Norway, each channel at its own period. Left, Japan to Norway; right, Norway to Japan.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade–positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions10.3USD bn
Goods, both directions–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceJapan → NorwayNorway → Japanother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnOct 2010 · 1.7 / 1.9013Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnnot reported011Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 8.2 / 1380100200Direct investment · annual · USD bn2024 · 1.2 / 0.9012Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysnot reported0.0×1.0×2.0×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods Japan → Norway

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Japan to Norway, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods Norway → Japan

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Norway to Japan, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Japan → Norway

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Japan on residents of Norway

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Norway → Japan

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Norway on residents of Japan

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Japan → Norway

Q4 2025

securities issued in Norway held by investors in Japan

Total8.2USD bn
Equity1.9USD bn
Debt securities6.3USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Norway → Japan

Q4 2025

securities issued in Japan held by investors in Norway

Total–Not reported
Equity–
Debt securities–
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Japan → Norway

2024

position of investors in Japan in Norway

Position1.2USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

Norway → Japan

2024

position of investors in Norway in Japan

Position0.9USD bn
Reportthe investor’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.