Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between France and New Zealand, each channel at its own period. Left, France to New Zealand; right, New Zealand to France.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade–positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions7.5USD bn
Goods, both directions–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceFrance → New ZealandNew Zealand → Franceother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnNov 2015 · 1.0 / 0.3012Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnQ2 2026 · 0.4 / –011Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 3.3 / 3.4035Direct investment · annual · USD bn2024 · 0.4 / 0.2001Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysQ4 2015 · 3.5×0.0×2.5×5.0×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods France → New Zealand

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of France to New Zealand, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods New Zealand → France

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of New Zealand to France, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

France → New Zealand

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in France on residents of New Zealand

Position0.4USD bn
Flow in the quarter0.0USD bnas published by the BIS
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

New Zealand → France

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in New Zealand on residents of France

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

France → New Zealand

Q4 2025

securities issued in New Zealand held by investors in France

Total3.3USD bn
Equity0.1USD bn
Debt securities3.2USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

New Zealand → France

Q4 2025

securities issued in France held by investors in New Zealand

Total3.4USD bn
Equity2.2USD bn
Debt securities1.2USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

France → New Zealand

2024

position of investors in France in New Zealand

Position0.4USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

New Zealand → France

2024

position of investors in New Zealand in France

Position–Not reported
Report–
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.