Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between Norway and South Africa, each channel at its own period. Left, Norway to South Africa; right, South Africa to Norway.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade–positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions0.2USD bn
Goods, both directions–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceNorway → South AfricaSouth Africa → Norwayother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnnot reported011Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnQ2 2026 · – / 0.0000Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 5.9 / 0.10510Direct investment · annual · USD bn2024 · 0.1 / −0.0000Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysnot reported0.0×1.0×2.0×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods Norway → South Africa

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Norway to South Africa, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods South Africa → Norway

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of South Africa to Norway, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Norway → South Africa

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Norway on residents of South Africa

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

South Africa → Norway

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in South Africa on residents of Norway

Position0.0USD bn
Flow in the quarter0.0USD bnas published by the BIS
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Norway → South Africa

Q4 2025

securities issued in South Africa held by investors in Norway

Total–Not reported
Equity–
Debt securities–
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

South Africa → Norway

Q4 2025

securities issued in Norway held by investors in South Africa

Total0.1USD bn
Equity0.0USD bn
Debt securities0.0USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Norway → South Africa

2024

position of investors in Norway in South Africa

Position0.1USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

South Africa → Norway

2024

position of investors in South Africa in Norway

Position−0.0USD bn
Reportthe host’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.