Skip to content

Pair · Q2 2026 · Aug 2025–Jul 2026

Goods, bank claims, portfolio holdings and direct investment between UK and Saudi Arabia, each channel at its own period. Left, UK to Saudi Arabia; right, Saudi Arabia to UK.

Finance to trade

positions ÷ goods, both directions
Finance to trade20×positions ÷ goods, both directions
Financial positions, both directions103USD bn
Goods, both directions5.1USD bn

Bank, and positions in both directions over goods trade in both directions; financial centres show very high ratios because they hold securities for others.

Positions at the periods above, goods in the 12-month window. Calculations: datasteg.

The pair through time

2006–Jul 2026

Each channel at its own period on one time axis: goods every month (12-month windows), bank claims every quarter, portfolio holdings every half year, direct investment every year, and below them the finance-to-trade ratio by quarter. Solid lines are reported flows, dashed stretches estimated; the band between a goods line and its other report is the mirror gap where both reports exist. A month with no goods line is one where the pair fell below trade-flow’s 1,500 largest flows.

SinceUK → Saudi ArabiaSaudi Arabia → UKother report (mirror gap)estimated
Goods · 12-month windows, monthly · USD bnJul 2026 · 5.1 / –0510Bank claims · quarterly · USD bnQ2 2026 · 44.7 / –02550Portfolio holdings · half-yearly · USD bnDec 2025 · 6.9 / 43.902550Direct investment · annual · USD bn2024 · 7.1 / 0.901020Finance to trade · quarterly, positions both ways ÷ goods both waysQ2 2026 · 20×0.0×13×25×20062008201020122014201620182020202220242026
Sources

The ratio starts in 2009, when the direct-investment survey begins: bank claims at the quarter, portfolio and direct investment at their latest period at or before it, goods in the 12 months to the quarter end. Calculations: datasteg global-network.

Goods UK → Saudi Arabia

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of UK to Saudi Arabia, 12 months

Exports, 12 months5.1USD bnspliced
–importer’s report ÷ exporter’s
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

Goods Saudi Arabia → UK

Aug 2025–Jul 2026

exports of Saudi Arabia to UK, 12 months

Exports, 12 months–Below the backbone of 1,500 flows
Sources

Window Aug 2025–Jul 2026. Importer-reported where filed, partner-reported or estimated otherwise (tagged). Mirror ratio: the importer’s report over the exporter’s.

UK → Saudi Arabia

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in UK on residents of Saudi Arabia

Position44.7USD bn
Flow in the quarter−0.8USD bnas published by the BIS
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

Saudi Arabia → UK

Q2 2026

loans and deposits of banks in Saudi Arabia on residents of UK

Position–Not reported
Flow in the quarter–
Sources

Loans and deposits, all sectors and currencies, residence basis, Q2 2026. Flow as published by the BIS.

UK → Saudi Arabia

Q4 2025

securities issued in Saudi Arabia held by investors in UK

Total6.9USD bn
Equity6.0USD bn
Debt securities0.9USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

Saudi Arabia → UK

Q4 2025

securities issued in UK held by investors in Saudi Arabia

Total43.9USD bn
Equity38.0USD bn
Debt securities5.9USD bn
Sources

Holder to issuer, Q4 2025.

UK → Saudi Arabia

2024

position of investors in UK in Saudi Arabia

Position7.1USD bn
Reportthe investor’s
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.

Saudi Arabia → UK

2024

position of investors in Saudi Arabia in UK

Position–Not reported
Report–
Sources

Investor to host, 2024; one report per pair, the host’s first.